Kobe To Participate In 3-Point Shootout

Kobe Bryant has added to his All-Star Weekend plate. After participating in the Skills Challenge last year in Las Vegas, #24 will try his hand at the 3-Point shootout this year.

The competition is stiff. Last seasons winner Jason Kapono, of the Toronto Raptors, returns, as does two time winner hometown Hornet Peja Stojakovic and Suns Guard Steve Nash. Rounding out the field are Cavs Guard Daniel Gibson and Pistons Guard Richard Hamilton.

Looking at the number so far this season doesn’t bode well for Bryant, but he’s been known to rise to the occasion when they shine the bright lights.

Here’s the Full Release.

The Toronto Raptors’ Jason Kapono will defend his title in this year’s Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout, which will be held on Saturday, Feb. 16, at New Orleans Arena as part of NBA All-Star Saturday Night.

Kapono will attempt to become the first back-to-back winner of the Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout since Peja Stojakovic won the 2002 and 2003 titles. Stojakovic will return to the competition representing the hometown New Orleans Hornets for the first time since finishing as runner-up in the 2004 competition. Stojakovic and Kapono will be joined by Western Conference starter and 10-time All-Star Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers, Daniel Gibson of the Cleveland Cavaliers, Richard Hamilton of the Detroit Pistons and two-time MVP Steve Nash of the Phoenix Suns.

The players will compete in the two-round competition with the top three finishers from the first round advancing to the finals. Five shooting stations will be set up around the three-point line, with four Official Spalding NBA game balls worth one point each and one Spalding NBA All-Star 2008 commemorative teal and gold colored “money ball” worth two points at each location. Each player will have one minute to shoot as many balls as he can. In the final round, players will shoot in ascending order of first-round scores. At the discretion of the referee, television instant replay may be consulted for clarification of rules compliance.

As with all of this year’s All-Star participants, Bryant, Gibson, Hamilton, Kapono, Stojakovic and Nash will join over 2,500 members of the NBA Family for the NBA Cares All-Star Day of Service on Friday, Feb. 15. The volunteers will participate in a variety of service projects at 10 different sites throughout New Orleans.

In addition, Foot Locker will be working with the New Orleans Recreation Department (NORD) to refurbish Stallings Gentilly Park in association with NBA Cares. The official court dedication to the New Orleans community will take place on Saturday, Feb. 16.

The Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout will be televised live nationally as part of the NBA All-Star Saturday Night, which will also feature the Haier Shooting Stars, Sprite Slam Dunk and PlayStation® Skills Challenge. TNT and ESPN Radio’s national coverage will begin at 8 p.m. ET from New Orleans Arena. The NBA All-Star Game on Sunday, Feb. 17, will air live on TNT, ESPN Radio and in more than 200 countries and territories worldwide.

Foot Locker, in its fifth year as the sponsor of the three-point shootout, is part of Foot Locker, Inc., a specialty athletic retailer that operates approximately 4,000 stores in countries in North America, Europe and Australia. Through its Foot Locker, Footaction, Lady Foot Locker, Kids Foot Locker and Champs Sports retail stores, as well as its direct-to-customer channel Footlocker.com/Eastbay, the Company is the leading provider of athletic footwear and apparel.

Following is a list of the year-by-year winners and the 2008 Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout roster:


1986 — Larry Bird, Boston
1987 — Larry Bird, Boston
1988 — Larry Bird, Boston
1989 — Dale Ellis, Seattle
1990 — Craig Hodges, Chicago
1991 — Craig Hodges, Chicago
1992 — Craig Hodges, Chicago
1993 — Mark Price, Cleveland
1994 — Mark Price, Cleveland
1995 — Glen Rice, Miami
1996 — Tim Legler, Washington
1997 — Steve Kerr, Chicago
1998 — Jeff Hornacek, Utah
2000 — Jeff Hornacek, Utah
2001 — Ray Allen, Milwaukee
2002 — Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2003 — Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2004 — Voshon Lenard, Denver
2005 — Quentin Richardson, Phoenix
2006 — Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2007 — Jason Kapono, Miami