Picking 60th in the NBA Draft

Typically, the No. 60 pick in the NBA Draft hasn’t had exactly the same amount of success as the No. 1 pick.

OK, it’s never been close … At least until 2011, that is.

While No. 1 overall pick Kyrie Irving was terrific towards earning NBA Rookie of the Year honors, the last pick in the draft, University of Washington product Isaiah Thomas, came out of nowhere to garner back-to-back Western Conference Rookie of the Month honors in February and March.

After the All Star break, Thomas averaged 14.2 points, 5.0 assists, 3.0 boards and 1.1 steals in 31:11 minutes.

Thomas, who earned his first name when his father lost a bet to a Pistons fan from the 1989 Finals, almost immediately became the best No. 60 pick ever, but that’s unfair to Steve Kerr.

Yes, the current TNT analyst and former ring winner while hitting threes alongside Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippen in Chicago was the final pick of the 1988 Draft out of Arizona. And while he never averaged double figures in scoring, he won five championships and leads the NBA in all-time 3-point shooting percentage at an impressive 45.4 percent.

Aside from Kerr, there doesn’t seem to be even a close third.

Here are the rest of the No. 60 picks, at least from 1988 on … see who else you recognize:

NO. 60 NBA DRAFT PICKS, 1989-2011
1988: Steve Kerr (Arizona)
1989: Toney Mack (Georgia)
1990: Sean Higgins (Michigan)
1991: Marcus Kennedy (Eastern Michigan)
1992: Brett Roberts (Morehead State)
1993: Brian Wilson (Utah)
1994: Zeljko Rebraca (Croatia)
1995: Don Reid (Georgetown)
1996: Darnell Robinson (Arkansas)
1997: Roberto Cueñas (Spain)
1998: Maceo Baston (Michigan)
1999: Eddie Lucas (Virginia Tech)
2000: Pete Mickeal (Cincinnati … Lakers fans might remember him from the 2010 preseason game against F.C. Barcelona when played very well and aggressively went at Kobe Bryant)
2001: Bryan Bracey (Oregon)
2002: Corsley Edwards (UCONN)
2003: Andreas Glyniadakis (Greece)
2004: Rashad Wright (Georgia)
2005: Alex Acker (Pepperdine)
2006: Will Blalock (Iowa)
2007: Milovan Rakovic (Serbia)
2008: Semih Erden (Turkey)
2009: Robert Dozier (Memphis)
2010:Dwayne Collins (Miami)
2011: Isaiah Thomas